How to … m1L and m1R … and to never forget which is which …

On the knit side

m1L : make 1 left, (left slanted increase)

m1L grijs?-1.

.

With the left needle pick up the strand between 2 stitches, from front to back and knit through the back loop.

.

.

.

m1R : make 1 right, (right slanted increase)

m1R grijs?-1.

.

With the left needle pick up the strand between 2 stitches, from back to front and knit through the front loop.

.

.

.

.

.

And here is the trick to remember and never forget: (watch the front leg that is closest to the knit side: the red leg in the pics)

m1L grijs?-2+oijl             m1R grijs?-2+pijl

See how the front leg is pointing to the                    And here the front leg is pointing to
left ? This must be m1L (make 1 left), right ?         the right. This must be m1R (make 1
…                                                                                  right)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On the purl side

This is a little different and a bit more complicated to explain, but once captured, it is very easy to remember. The m1pL (make 1 purl stitch to the left) and m1pR (make 1 purl stitch to the right) are described as seen on the knit side (often the right side of your work). In fact on the purl side it is harder to see a significant difference in direction of both increases.  So, m1pL is left leaning on the knit side. Consequently, the m1pR is right leaning on the knit side.

m1pL : make 1 purl stitch left, (left slanted increase)

m1pL grijs?-1.

.

With the left needle pick up the strand between 2 stitches, from back to front and purl through the front loop.

.

.

.

.

.

m1pR : make 1 purl stitch right, (right slanted increase)

m1pr-grijs-1

.

.

.

With the left needle pick up the strand between 2 stitches, from front to back and purl through the back loop.

.

.

.

.

.

.

And now the trick.

As said before right and left in the purl increases refer to the knit side. The important leg to watch is the one closest to the knit side (= the back leg)

m1pL grijs?-2+pijl        m1pR grijs?-2+pijl

See how the back leg is pointing to the            The back leg is pointing to the right.
left ?
This is m1pL.                                           This should be m1pR.

Well that’s it. Since I use the increases in this manner, I don’t even think about left or right. I think of increases leaning away from a marker or towards a marker …

21 thoughts on “How to … m1L and m1R … and to never forget which is which …

  1. Pingback: how to … work an ESTONIAN BRAID aka VIKKEL BRAID … | ALFAKNITS

  2. Emmm, just to be sure, you say in m1pR that the needle is inserted from back to front (like in the m1pL), but the picture and my intuition tells me the contrary… Is there an error ? Or it’s me !

  3. I use a mnemonic to remember the difference: the words “right” and “rear” begin with the same letter. So if I want a right-leaning make 1, I put the left needle in the rear of the stitch. Therefore, for a left-leaning M1, I go into the front of the stitch. Frankly, I’ve never done this increase on the purl side, but if I needed to, I’d just tell myself to go the opposite way as I would on the knit side.

  4. At m1pR you say:
    With the left needle pick up the strand between 2 stitches, from front to back and knit through the front loop.
    But I think should be:
    With the left needle pick up the strand between 2 stitches, from front to back and purl through the back loop.
    I knit Portuguese style and for me is very easy to do it.
    Thank you for your rules.
    Cleópatra

    • Oups, of course it is purl and not knit. Thanks so much for pointing out, Cléopatra. I corrected that right away.
      I heard of Portuguese style and how easy it is to purl. I will have to take a look. I a working on some new designs with lots of purl stitches ^^

      • Sorry if I’m being annoying, but it is … back loop (…not front loop).Other wise we have a hole because the stitch does not twist.
        In the 3th picture (from m1pR set) the front leg of the st should be in front of the left needle. As it is the st is out of left needle.
        Small details ….
        I know your desings from ravelry and I special like crazy stripes. One of this days I will make it.
        🙂

  5. Oh my goodness, I love you. 🙂 Thank you so much for enabling this continental knitter to see how to m1 purlwise and why. So clear.

  6. Brilliant! A great reminder – if you want to know the result, look at what you’re doing and *see* the result.

  7. Reblogged this on Jo-Creates and commented:
    I’m making a new cardigan and it has tonnes of M1L, M1R, M1pR M1pL in it, I’m constantly forgetting which is which but this is a really handy tutorial to remember which is which! 🙂

Leave a Reply

